Personal · Weekly Updates · Writing

Biweekly Update: 3/13/16

biweekly update on writing, reading, and personal life

You may be able to tell by the title change that the frequency of my update posts are going to change. 

Although I like to think a lot goes on in my life in any given week, the reality is that it’s not relevant to anyone else. The point of these posts is to provide an avenue for me to document my writing and notable good things that happen. That really doesn’t need to happen more than twice a month!

Onwards.

Writing & Reading

two week writing progress tracker worksheet

My writing continues to fall–only about 9,500 words in two weeks. That string of zeroes consists of the days leading up to spring break (during which I had two midterm papers, a quiz, and a presentation to work on instead of writing) and the first half of spring break itself (during which I was busy sleeping and watching Parks & Rec on Netflix as recovery from the week before spring break).

After taking my spring break as a break from writing, too, I’m making two major changes to my writing goals. The first is that I’m actually going to block out time in my schedule for writing so that I can’t put it off and say I have other stuff to do (so if you see me messing around on Facebook at 10 a.m. on Mon/Wed or 2 p.m. on Tues/Thurs, please yell at me). The second is that I’m putting my rewrite of Runaway off until April; I’ll pick it up again as my Camp NaNoWriMo project. I’m trying to focus solely on finishing Tempestuous, which is now at ~59,000 words (and the most dramatic scene!), by the end of March.

These weeks’ reads included Never Fall Down by Patricia McCormick and Kiss the Dust by Elizabeth Laird, two young adult books about kids in wartime/genocide. Next up is Over A Thousand Hills I Walk With You by Hanna Jansen. All of these true stories of displaced, tormented kids who have survived so much horror are starting to take a toll on me.

Highlights of the past two weeks:

  • I participated in My Stand Mentor training to end interpersonal violence.
  • I found out that I have an interview for a leadership award/scholarship this week.
  • I got to go to Spartanburg, SC and see one of my best friends perform with George Mason University’s indoor drumline.
    girls blonde brunette friends aia dci gmu
  • Soooooo much sleep over spring break.
  • I got to go back to visit my old high school, to talk to my AP Lit teacher’s senior class about college. I also got to speak to and hang out with the Writing Club, which I founded in my sophomore year of high school.
  • I VOTED FOR THE FIRST TIME IN MY LIFE.
    BRUNETTE girl I voted early #feelthebern america north carolina
  • I snagged some presents for various people well in advance of their due dates.
  • I spent lovely quality time with my family and friends at home.
  • I got to volunteer in the Wilmington St. Patrick’s Day parade, staying at my friend Mary’s house and playing with her roommate’s cats.
  • The DST switch happened today, which means that I have nice, well-lit evenings again and won’t feel so sad and lethargic because it’s dark out by 7 p.m.!

I hope that everyone else has had a wonderful end to February and start to March! How has your reading/writing life been going? What are some of your highlights for this week? I’d love to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

