Cosplay · Personal · Wildcards

2016 Convention & Cosplay Schedule

This week’s Wildcard Wednesday features a departure from boring daily life and slightly-more-exciting daily writing. This post is about the other half (well… now more like a quarter) of my double life. During the week I am a well-adjusted, high-achieving student writer working diligently towards life goals. On a couple of weekends a year, I’m a weirdo who dresses up in a homemade costume of a fictional character and spends three days running around a hotel and an unfamiliar city with equally-strange-looking cohorts.

I’ve been doing this strange hobby for a couple of years now. Below is a gallery of some of my favorite costumes and memories, if you’d like to peruse.

I’ve cut back a lot on my convention-going and cosplaying because now that I’m a college student, my life is much, much busier. With that in mind, I thought I would make a list of the conventions and costumes I am planning on for 2016.

Conventions

  1. Nashicon, Columbia, SC, April 1-3, 2016
  2. Animazement, Raleigh, NC, May 27-29, 2016
  3. Cosplay America (tentative), NC, date TBD (probably August)
  4. Anime Weekend Atlanta (tentative), Atlanta, GA, September 29-October 2
  5. Banzaicon, Columbia, SC, November 11-13, 2016
  6. Aniwave, Wilmington, NC, December 3-4, 2016

Nashicon will be a new convention for me, but it is a chance to go back to Columbia and hang out with some friends while we do our Sailor Moon group again, which is an opportunity I don’t want to pass up.

Animazement is my home convention, and I have had a weekend pass since last year’s con ended. It’s not my favorite con, but it’s so close to my home (no hotel fees!) and so large that I really have no excuse to miss it, especially since all of my normal con friends AND many of my friends who don’t typically attend cons go. I’m hoping to drag my roommate along as well.

Cosplay America is another convention that’s usually too close to miss. This may depend on where it actually ends up this year (if it’s all the way in Chapel Hill again I will probably skip) and what the panel programming looks like.

AWA is a con I would definitely like to attend, and it would be my “big con” of the year. Being that it’s in the middle of the semester and the farthest and most expensive con on the list, it’s sort of a “stretch goal.” I may have to push back my first AWA to 2017, but I’ll make it there eventually. If I do go in 2016, I’ll probably drop Cosplay America.

Banzaicon is consistently my favorite convention experience, mostly because all my friends end up there and Columbia is an awesome city. I wouldn’t miss it for the world–which means I will be missing NC Comicon, which is happening during the same dates, for the umpteenth time. I’ll make it to Comicon eventually…

Finally, Aniwave, though microscopic, is held in Wilmington while I’m still there for school. Again, very little excuse to miss it.

Obviously this schedule is subject to school things that pop up, and I may end up cancelling some of them because now that I look at it, 6 cons in one year while attending school full-time is rather ambitious. (Hence the ‘tentative’ next to some of the cons!)

Costumes

  1. …????

Again, I’m now a busy full-time student. I told this to a few of my friends back in 2015, but I will no longer be giving myself deadlines for costumes. If I make some new ones, I make some new ones. If not, I still have a bunch of great costumes that I love to wear (Belle, Raven, Rin, Mars, Sango, my kigu, etc.). I find myself spending less and less time in costume at conventions, anyway.

Yoko Littner is half-finished and I might try to finish her for AZ since it’s hot as hell then anyway (massive gun TBD). I just bought a wig for a potential Princess Daisy costume, but I have no deadlines for starting it or cons I want to wear it to.

Anyway, that’s my plan for the year, convention-wise, likely to be updated. If you have similar strange hobbies, let me know! Or, really, anything that requires you to go to conferences/conventions. They’re sort of a time and money suck regardless of what topic they center on!

Leave a Reply

