Writing · Writing Articles

Writing Bucket List

With the turn of the year, resolutions are common. I’ve already made mine, but there are things on my writing bucket list that I don’t necessarily want to do this year. With that in mind, while doing my New Year’s Resolutions, I also came up with a list to accomplish in the long-term. Thus was born my Writing Bucket List.

1. Write a novel without the help of NaNoWriMo

This may seem silly, but all four of my completed novel drafts and most of the countless incomplete drafts have started off as NaNoWriMo (or Camp NaNoWriMo) projects. For once I would like to write something, beginning to end, at a slow and steady pace.

2. Make a habit of writing/editing daily

This sort of goes along with #1. Thankfully I have joined the 10 Minute Novelists 365k Club this year, which will hopefully help me get into the habit!

3. Write an epic fantasy novel

My comfort zone is in urban fantasy/speculative fiction, but I have always had a soft spot in my heart for high fantasy à la George R. R. Martin, the Dragonlance series, etc. In the past I have attempted this, but did not have the patience for the proper world-building, which leads me to…

4. Create a worldbuilding encyclopedia BEFORE writing a book that takes place in said world

It would be so much work, but so rewarding. And then I could publish a cool fantasy reference book like Tolkien and Martin did.

5. Join SCWBI and SFWA

Someday I will have the money and, in SFWA’s case, the credentials to be able to be a part of these wonderful organizations. I would love to be able to meet people who spend their lives contributing to the world’s canon of speculative and children’s literature.

6. Attend a writers’ conference

I’ve attended several conventions for my other interests–namely anime/cosplay conventions–and there is absolutely no better way to make friends and find people who love the same things you do. Writers’ conferences are unfortunately much more expensive than anime conventions, but I’ll get there.

7. Write a successful humor piece

Humor is really not my strong suit, but I would love–just once–to be able to write something that makes someone laugh out loud. I’m not the ‘funny sibling,’ so I need some sort of consolation prize.

8. Become proficient in InDesign, Photoshop, etc.

I’m really obsessed with all parts of the publishing process, not just writing. The idea of having the skills to format and design a beautiful book and cover is incredibly exciting to me. Hopefully I will be able to take some classes on this stuff in late 2016 or early 2017.

9. Blog regularly

This is part for the discipline, part for the platform, and part for the fun. Blogging is a way to catalogue my life, update friends and family, meet new people, and discover and share resources. I would love to be able to do it actively.

10. Meet/befriend author crushes

OK, so, I have a massive author crush on Erin Bow, whom I believe is not only a wonderful author but a wonderful lady. I get warm fuzzies when she tweets me back or answers my asks on Tumblr. I’m not really the type of person to become interested in the people behind art–which is why I never know the names of actors or musicians–but Ms. Bow and a few other authors serve as the exceptions. They have been role models for me in my own writing, and getting the opportunity to meet them (as an author in addition to as a fan) would be a dream come true.

That’s really my top ten, although I’m sure I’ll add more eventually. What’s on your Writing Bucket List? What can you do to take steps towards crossing those things off? I would love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

