Writing · Writing Articles

New Years Resolutions: Writing Edition

The new year’s approach always brings a slew of resolutions, and I am no exception to the rule. I would like to take some time to reflect on the things I have accomplished as a writer this year and the things I hope to accomplish next year.

This year’s accomplishments…

  • I finished writing my 2014 NaNoWriMo (Runaway, 76k) and just finished its first round of revisions. It is, I believe, my strongest novel yet.
  • I won NaNoWriMo 2015, making it my sixth consecutive year of NaNoWriMo wins.
  • I finished my NaNo 2015 project (Tempestuous v2, 51k) 12 days after the end of NaNoWriMo; the draft took 42 days to complete, start to finish. That is the fastest I have ever completed a novel.
  • I overcame my fear of sharing my work and sought beta readers for my novels.
  • I completed several rounds of edits on my completed 2014 Camp NaNoWriMo (Sigma Radiant, 76k).
  • I had a short story accepted for commercial publication for the first time. (It comes out in February!)
  • I enrolled in my dream school to begin studying creative writing and took my first creative writing class.
  • I won some cash in a poetry prize.
  • I found a whole collection of awesome writing groups to become part of (Writers’ Association at my school and 10 Minute Novelists and Book-in-a-Week online).
  • I collected a couple of new writing buddies.
  • Next week (hopefully before 2016), I will hold a print copy of a novel I’ve written in my hands.

Resolutions for next year…

  • Do and win NaNoWriMo 2016.
  • Write a novel without the help of NaNoWriMo (Tempestuous v3).
  • Finish editing Sigma Radiant and Runaway.
  • Start submitting Runaway to agents.
  • Finish editing Tempestuous v3.
  • Successfully complete 350k Club (in my case, 250k Club) in 2016.
  • Write more short stories and submit them to more markets.
  • Do more beta reading.
  • Make more writing buddies!
  • Blog regularly. I’m thinking Monday Writing Articles, Wednesday Personal Updates, and Friday Writing Updates. That may end up being way too ambitious, but we’ll see.
  • Read more books.
  • Continue to grow, learn, and better myself as a writer!

I’ve had so much fun this year and am ready to take on 2016. What are some of the things you’ve accomplished in 2015? What are some of your resolutions (writing-related or not) for 2016?

5 thoughts on “New Years Resolutions: Writing Edition

  1. Wow, I love how you stated your goals. You’ve given me an idea for my own blog. I don’t think writing three blog posts a week is too much if you can keep up. I’ve done some research on blogging professionally, and that is the way to do it.

    Like

    1. Thanks! I’m glad it gave you an idea!

      So far I’ve had plenty of ideas with which to fill up the spots (at least the writing article ones) so hopefully I can keep that up. I’m just hoping that this will be the time that the whole “blogging” thing will work out.

      Like

  2. What great resolutions! My resolution is to finish edits/revisions on Little Birdhouses and begin querying agents.

    Plus I’d like to freelance a bit and submit some items to paid contests or for commercial publication.

    Like

Leave a Reply

