Wildcards · Writing

Following Your Gut in a First Draft

The weather is cold; Christmas songs suffuse the radio. We are halfway through December and NaNoWriMo is a few weeks behind us. If you’re like me, as a result of that annual November typing frenzy, you have a pretty rough first novel draft waiting for you to attack it.

By rough, I mean incredibly rough. When people, after hearing that I wrote a novel in a month, ask when they can read it, I have said, “Oh, God, not for a while–it’s a pile of crap right now.” And it can definitely feel like that when you’re in the trenches of novel-writing, hating every word you put on the paper. But the other day I ran across Kelly Sedinger’s blog post, “Your First Draft is Not Crap.” He made, I think, a very fitting analogy about first drafts: they are the plywood skeleton of a house. Not anywhere near finished or livable, but they are a solid start.

2015 was my sixth NaNoWriMo, and even with a crazy thing like NaNoWriMo, practice makes perfect. My first-draft house has become a little more polished over the years–maybe with drywall thrown up or a roof over the plywood skeleton. My NaNo drafts are never anywhere near perfect, but they’re closer to it than they were six years ago when I began.

At least, that was the pattern until this last NaNo draft.

You see, something strange happened with my most recent NaNo draft. I laid out the scenes in my outline, like usual. And then I started to write. Everything went great until I hit an issue–my main character’s motivation was based on a sensitive plot event. And I thought, “This is YA fiction–do I really have any business putting something like this plot event in here?”

I made the mistake of thinking of future readers before I thought of my own vision for the story. So I changed the event–watered it down significantly. But that, in turn, changed character dynamics, the suspension of disbelief, the plot itself. I kept writing, but at the end of November I had the shortest, weakest first draft of a novel I’ve produced in years. All my NaNo-practice seemed undone; the bones of the house I was building were rickety with a few nails missing. I still believe in the story, but it’s going to take so much more work now, because I didn’t follow my gut and my initial vision.

Sure, I may have had a point about the sensitive plot event. But the first draft is no time for editing–NaNoWriMo itself is the antithesis of editing. If I had written the draft like I had intended to–like my gut told me to–I would have a much stronger novel to edit. I could have made appropriate substitutions after establishing strong characters and a cohesive, believable plot and a writing style that could carry the story.

And I would have had more fun writing it, which is probably the most important part.

In the end, though, the flop is probably a good thing. We learn from our screwups. Even if this year’s NaNoWriMo draft is not my sturdiest house, I have learned an important lesson about following my gut–at least for the first draft. And in the end, learning is what writing is all about.

One thought on “Following Your Gut in a First Draft

Leave a Reply

