Personal

A Belated Thanksgiving

Shame on me, to have let this blog–fixed up with my own custom domain name and everything–go to waste for the past few months. I would love to blame it on all the things I have been doing as a newly-minted college student, but let’s face it: if I’ve found time to write 50,000 words in November, I could’ve written up a blog post or two.

Regardless, it is the end of the semester and the beginning of exams, and in this stressful time it is important to remember the good things in life. I have so much to be thankful for during this holiday season; I have learned so much and gained so many new friends and experiences that I almost don’t know where to start.

Thank you to my family, who have been nothing but supportive, who have graciously let me go to live in this place without seeing them for weeks at a time. It’s only two hours away and I make it home at least once or twice a month, but I know it is hard on them. I appreciate the opportunity to be at UNCW, entirely because of my parents’ hard work and desire for me to get a good education, more than I can say. I also appreciate the food and the laundering and the pie-making (looking at you, Grandma) that gets done for me whenever I come home. I love you all so much!

Thank you to my old friends, who have had patience with my busy schedule and the fact that I don’t keep in touch nearly as well as I should. I will be home soon, and then you can yell at me to come visit and hang out and I won’t have any excuses! I love you guys, too, and although we don’t talk much, I miss you all very much and you are very much still supports for me. You know who you are.

Thank you to my new friends. I was so afraid when I came here that I would have trouble meeting new people and making friends. I don’t think I’ve ever been gladder to be wrong in my life. All of you have made this an incredible first semester at college, from laughing hard enough to cry over “Sonic and chill” to attending all my Area Council events for support and holding me up when I falter and being there for me while I complain about my very minimal woes. You are all such lovely people and I love you and I’m so excited to spend next semester and the next three and a half years with all of you!

Thank you to my roommate. Maddy, I don’t know how you put up with me, but you do. Not only that, but you are an incredible friend–you have done all of the above and more. Thank you to my roommate-to-be, Mally, for becoming our third partner in crime. Your sass and your weird accents complete my days, and I can’t wait to live with the both of you next year. It’s going to be an adventure. Really dumb and weeby and full of strange noises and singing in the middle of the night, but an adventure. (Also thank you to Justin, who, while not our roommate for next year, is the fourth irreplaceable corner in our square of white girl sass, cat obsessions, and tumblr tagging frenzies.)

Thank you to Caleb, my partner in rectifying crimes against the written word. Thank you for putting up with my 1am complaints about books, for letting me make fun of you all semester, and for generally being around to make me almost pee myself laughing. And for doing NaNoWriMo with me! (Congrats on your first win!) There’s no one I would rather weeb out with at 8am on Tuesdays and Thursdays next semester. (Aside from Maddy, who will also be there!)

Thank you to my professors. I don’t think any of you will end up reading this, but all of you have been incredible and have taught me so much. Dr. Boren especially. (What happens in Gothic Lit stays in Gothic Lit…)

Thank you to my Gothic Lit classmates for making me laugh so hard I couldn’t breathe during every class period. I just realized today that Gothic Lit will never meet again and it made me so sad. You guys are my favorites. Just watch out for all the breasticles, trustaches, and toothbrush-shivs out there. Be careful. The world is not as it seems.

Thank you to the Writers’ Association, for giving me a home on Thursday nights and a whole gaggle of like-minded dorks to hang out with.

Thank you to the staff of Atlantis, for giving me the opportunity to be a part of this incredible magazine and for making me feel like a part of the family already, even though I’ve only been on staff for like three weeks. I am so much more excited than I can say to be working with you all next semester and hopefully for the next few years. We have so much to accomplish and I’m glad I can do it with all of you.

Thank you to all of my church family at CCM, especially Mary. You have become my home away from the dorm and brought my closer to God than I ever could have expected. There is no place else I would rather be on Sunday and Wednesday nights.

Thank you to everyone who has made me smile this semester–there are a lot of you. I have such a wonderful life, and you are part of what makes it that way.

Good luck on your exams and have a wonderful holiday season and winter break, friends! I will see you all soon, or if not, in January, for another incredible semester.

Featured image courtesy of Victor Hanacek.

Leave a Reply

